In the news…

The majority of this edition is stolen/stumbled sent courtesy of Amanda…but they were so great I couldn’t help but post them, especially considering that I am in the process of adding a gendered component to my research [the local ecological knowledge of women in communities, and the ‘invisibility’ of their knowledge system/lack of representation in resource management, even though they are ‘daily managers of the resource’ especially in the sense of the health of the community…to be honest it is an emerging theme in my dissertation that I am excited/nervous about, in that I am excited because it intertwines with my passion of feminist studies, and nervous in that I am not academically prepared to couch my research in the theory – Oxford necessary].  So, again, if you are not already checking Amanda’s blog for your top.10.reads, shame.

altmuslimah.com – Feminist theory: The dos and don’ts of defending Muslim women. [While I don’t necessarily wholeheartedly agree with all of her points [another discussion for another time], it is an interesting read that brings up a number of valid and thought provoking points about the assumptions individuals or groups make when we try to speak for other we perceive to be oppressed…in addition it is a great website!]

Guernica/In My Place – An interview with Fatima Bhutto [She offers some interesting insights or perhaps obvious commentary to the people who live in Pakistan as to the overwhelming problem of corruption, but she is coming from a very bias place]

Pakistan must fight extremism through Education, Gilani says [see Three Cups of Tea]

Arundhati Roy at the London Literature Festival – 2009 | CommonDreams.org. [See To Read section…]

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “In the news…

  1. Jim

    I really enjoyed reading the article about feminism and the muslim. There is a good lesson in that feature in that a lot of times, the elitists (both liberal and conservative) think that they know what is in the best interest of individuals without ever having lived the experiences or grown in the culture. The elitists believe that they have the answers and solutions but the fact is that they are viewing it from their perspective and not the perspective of the individual who is actually the recepient. Good lessons for all areas, not just muslim women.

Leave a comment